With Cornwall For Cornwall

Gans Kernow Rag Kernow

Westholme, Alexandra Road,

Penzance, Cornwall, TR18 4LY

Tel: 01736 331961 Email: [email protected]

News Categories
News Archives
News & Fixtures

All the Latest News & Fixtures...

Cornish Pirates – Awards 2019/20

Posted: April 23, 2020
News Categories
News Archives

Cornish Pirates – Awards 2019/20
Award 7

The Monckton Cup for Achievement

This trophy is presented in memory of Bill and Brian Monckton, a father-son combination who were both former players, served on committee and became respected officers – Bill, a former captain, Chairman and then President, and Brian in later years also becoming Chairman.

Previous winners are: 1992 Jamie Dean, 1993 John Thomas, 1994 Pirates 7s Team, 1995 Pirates U13s Team, 1996 Steve Larkins, 1997 1st XV Squad, 1998 George ‘Bosun’ James, 1999 1st XV Squad, 2000 Adrian Bick, 2001 Pirates Youth Team, 2002 Kevin Moseley, 2003 Kevin Moseley, 2004 Joe Bearman, 2005 George ‘Bosun’ James, 2006 Rhodri McAtee, 2007 Alberto Di Bernardo, 2008 Scott Hobson, 2009 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 2010 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 2011 Rob Cook, 2012 Sam Hill, 2013 Jack Nowell, 2014 Max Bodilly, 2015 Kieran Hallett, 2016 Ian Davies, 2017 Alan Paver & Gavin Cattle, 2018 Kyle Moyle, 2019 Sam Matavesi.

The trophy this year goes to a person who has been not only been a talisman in the captaincy role this past couple of seasons but is also a true gentleman. The winner is, of course – Brett Beukeboom.

Cornish Pirates’ Joint Head Coach Alan Paver has commented:

Brett’s achievements can be seen through the times we have struggled and the more recent times with him being our leader. He is an outstanding human being, who is well respected by everyone attached to the Pirates and this is a very well deserved award.

Note: The next 2019/20 award to be announced will be at 7pm this evening.

Recent News: General News