With Cornwall For Cornwall

Gans Kernow Rag Kernow

Westholme, Alexandra Road,

Penzance, Cornwall, TR18 4LY

Tel: 01736 331961 Email: [email protected]

News Categories
News Archives
News & Fixtures

All the Latest News & Fixtures...

End of Season Awards 22/23

Posted: April 24, 2023
News Categories
News Archives

At the end of Saturday’s Cornish Pirates versus Hartpury match played at the Mennaye Field, certain Annual Awards were made from in front of the main Truro & Penwith College grandstand.


PA announcer Phil Westren firstly expressed thanks to all who have contributed to the Pirates cause, covering the Cornish Pirates, the Penzance & Newlyn RFC’s youth section, and the Pirates Amateurs. In particular, seeing it was a Cornish Pirates match day, he also highlighted the senior team’s impressive achievements this season, whereby the partly new look squad has reached their present fifth place in the RFU Championship table and will play Jersey Reds at home in the semi-final of the Cup on Friday 5th May.


Awards made in order were as follows: 


The Edwin Bryant Trophy – This fine trophy, a handcrafted-mounted rugby ball in cedar, is presented in memory of Edwin Bryant, a respected rugby man who was for many years a member of the Cornwall Rugby Referees’ Society. The award goes annually to a player – perhaps an unsung hero and great stalwart – who has been a squad member for at least three seasons. Edwin’s widow Carole and loyal supporter Treive Nicholas presented the trophy to fully deserved winner – Marlen Walker.


John Stirling Memorial Cup for Commitment – John was a former player and committed Pirate, and his widow Wendy, a great supporter, once again kindly stepped forward to present the trophy to someone who has been wholly committed to the Pirates cause. A former youth section player, a coach to the Pirates Amateurs, and a club skipper who leads the Pirates with total commitment, it was well done to – John Stevens.


The Dave Berryman Cup – This next important trophy was presented by Penzance & Newlyn RFC’s chairman Scott Dugdale to the adjudged ‘Volunteer of the Year’. Phil said the Pirates have always been blessed with so many fine volunteers, all playing their part to keep the club going. Indeed, the late Dave ‘Bezzy’ Berryman, a former player, was such a stalwart. As for this year’s recipient, it was someone who has supported the club for many years, and in a variety of ways. The winner was – Emma Simons.


Clubman of the Year – Scott Dugdale also presented this award to someone who has shown considerable input and dedication. A former youth section player who now coaches certain youth teams, including the Pirates Colts, the thoroughly deserved winner was – Jody Marr.


The Roger Pascoe Cup – The next trophy presented is also considered special, as it goes annually to the voted for ‘Supporters ‘Player of the Season’ – in memory of former player Roger ‘Paco’ Pascoe, who made over 1,000 appearances for the club. Cornish Pirates’ CEO Rebecca Thomas kindly made the award to a player who has been in wonderful form, using his clever footwork, subtle wiry strength and bursts of speed to superb effect. The winner was – AJ Cant


The President’s Cup – This was the final trophy to be presented, as other awards will be made at the forthcoming Club Dinner. It is a trophy that goes to the player who, in the opinion of the President of Penzance & Newlyn RFC, has been the most outstanding contributor on the field during the season. Terry Drew was delighted to this year make his presentation to someone who stepped forward for a second time during the afternoon, namely – John Stevens.


The confirmed awards to be made at the Club Dinner will be as follows:


Community Player of the Year.

Sportsman of the Year.

The Monckton Cup for Achievement.

Most Improved Player.

Try of the Season.

Player of the Year.

Players’ Player of the Year.