With Cornwall For Cornwall

Gans Kernow Rag Kernow

Westholme, Alexandra Road,

Penzance, Cornwall, TR18 4LY

Tel: 01736 331961 Email: [email protected]

Plymouth Albion


Cornish Pirates

26 August, 2023

News & Fixtures

All the Latest News & Fixtures...

League / Cup

Pre Season Friendly`




saturday, 26 August, 2023

Kick Off



Plymouth Albion


Cornish Pirates

Following last weekend’s 45-5 home pre-season ‘friendly’ win versus Plymouth Albion, the Cornish Pirates have named 10 x fresh starters for this coming Saturday’s reverse fixture at the Devon team’s Brickfields Recreation Ground (ko 3pm).

In the backs only full-back Kyle Moyle and centre Tom Pittman, who played at fly-half last Saturday, are named to see action from the off, whilst forwards to once again start are lock Will Britton, wing forward Will Gibson and number 8 John Stevens. One player set to make his debut for the Cornish Pirates off the bench is former England under 18s wing/centre Eparama Rokodrava. Just turned 19, he is on a season’s loan from Ealing Trailfinders.

Speaking ahead of Saturday’s contest, Cornish Pirates’ joint head coach Gavin Cattle has said:

“This second friendly against Albion will give us the opportunity to look at different combinations and to assess our fitness again, which on Saturday was pleasing.

“These games are also handy whereby besides all the training you have to have to look at things in a live contest before the meaningful action gets underway, and that is what these pre-season fixtures are about.”

Gavin added:

“We feel the that two such matches are enough for us, because ahead of our final week’s prep for the Bath game we have next week off, remembering also that the opening Premiership Cup game will be the first in a set of five inevitably tough such encounters on the trot.“

The Cornish Pirates full selection for Saturday is as follows:

Cornish Pirates:   15 Kyle Moyle 14 Frankie Nowell 13 Matt McNab 12 Tom Pittman 11 Dan John 10 Iwan Jenkins 9 Alex Schwarz; 1 Leftheri Zigiriadis 2 Rhys Williams 3 Fin Richardson 4 Alex Everett 5 Will Britton 6 Harry Dugmore 7 Will Gibson 8 John Stevens (captain).

Replacements:   16 Morgan Nelson 17 Jacob Morris 18 Matt Johnson 19 Jack Andrew 20 Cory Teague 21 Ruaridh Dawson 22 Jordan Gott 23 Joe Elderkin 24 Iwan Evans 25 Will Trewin 26 Eparama Rokodrava