With Cornwall For Cornwall

Gans Kernow Rag Kernow

Westholme, Alexandra Road,

Penzance, Cornwall, TR18 4LY

Tel: 01736 331961 Email: [email protected]

News Categories
News Archives
News & Fixtures

All the Latest News & Fixtures...

Pirates Colts Are Crowned County Champions!

Posted: April 10, 2019
News Categories
News Archives

Pirates Colts Are Crowned County Champions!

St. Austell Colts 6 Penzance & Newlyn Colts 23

After many years of trying, the Pirates Colts have finally once again been crowned County Champions.

At the start of this contest played at Tregorrick Park, St. Austell, however, it was the Saints who began brightest, as roared on by a vociferous home crowd they took a 6-0 lead thanks to a couple of Ashley Gilder penalties.

Weathering the sin-binning of their fly-half Jordan Sidwell the Pirates did well to strike back, a good try scored by No. 8 Mawgan Osborne and the conversion slotted by scrum-half Alistair Stacey nudging them in front.

Stacey followed up next with a penalty, before he scored an unconverted try near half-time following a strong run from flanker Mackenzie Oliver.

The Saints strived hard to get back into the match, however despite some promising phases they were unable to secure a crucial score. Indeed, the Pirates went further ahead with a try from skipper Toby Osborne and then a second penalty from Stacey.

With six minutes left, it was unfortunate that Toby Osborne picked up a neck injury, but with the result already secured the referee decided to bring the game to a premature end. Thankfully, after a trip to hospital, nothing serious was diagnosed and the team captain made a speedy recovery.

For the two combined Pirates age groups (U17 and U18) involved in this side, the victory was a just reward for all the hard work they have together put in. Their selection for the final was follows:

15 Leo Guy, 14 Lewis Burley, 13 Tyler Kearey, 12 Jordan Church, 11 Matt Burrell, 10 Jordan Sidwell, 9 Ali Stacey; 1 Aaron Kessell, 2 Perran Tustin, 3 Declan Prowse, 4 Toby Osborne (c), 5 Archie Pilcher, 6 Mackenzie Oliver, 7 Matt Vincent, 8 Mawgan Osborne.

Replacements: Xavier Jenkins, Sam Harvey, Will Trenoweth, Javi Gomez, Fletcher Stevenson, Andre Green.

The Pirates had first – and last – won the trophy back in 1990, when at Hayle a team skippered by David Pascoe defeated Camborne 10-6.

Recent News: Rugby News