With Cornwall For Cornwall

Gans Kernow Rag Kernow

Westholme, Alexandra Road,

Penzance, Cornwall, TR18 4LY

Tel: 01736 331961 Email: [email protected]

News Categories
News Archives
News & Fixtures

All the Latest News & Fixtures...

End of Season Awards

Posted: April 26, 2022
News Categories
News Archives

Cornish Pirates ‘Post Match Awards’ 2022

At the end of Saturday’s Cornish Pirates versus Doncaster Knights match played at the Mennaye Field, certain Annual Awards were made from in front of the main Truro & Penwith College grandstand.

PA announcer Phil Westren firstly expressed thanks to all who have contributed to the Cornish Pirates cause, including the coaches and players, supporters, sponsors, shareholders, Dicky Evans and the board of Directors and, of course, cherished volunteers. In particular, he highlighted the impressive achievement recorded by the team, whereby for the first time ever they were unbeaten at home in the league all season.

As publicised, several end of season awards were presented at the recent Club Dinner event held at the Penventon Hotel, Redruth. As for Saturday’s, they were as follows:


The Edwin Bryant Trophy – This fine trophy, a handcrafted-mounted rugby ball in cedar, is presented in memory of Edwin Bryant, a respected rugby man who was for many years a member of the Cornwall Rugby Referees’ Society. The award goes annually to a player – perhaps an unsung hero – who has been a squad member for at least three seasons. Edwin’s widow Carole presented the trophy to Matt Bolwell in the apologised absence of the winner – Alex O’Meara.


The Dave Berryman Cup – To the Volunteer of the Year. Phil Westren commented that the Pirates continue to be blessed with so many fine volunteers, all playing their part to keep the club going and to progress. Because he was unfortunately taken unwell during the year, this year’s chosen recipient was unable to be present, so in his absence Geoff Read accepted the trophy from the Chairman of the Cornish Pirates, Paul Durkin, on behalf someone done so much quietly and efficiently for the club voluntarily over many years. The individual has been missed and thoughts have been with

Bobby Jacka.


John Stirling Memorial Cup for Commitment – Presented annually since 1999, the trophy was shared this year by two individuals who have shown determination and commitment aplenty over the years. It was remembered that both at different times missed all but two whole seasons each because of injuries, whilst they also reached the 150 games milestone during this season. John’s widow Wendy presented the trophy this year to the deserving duo – Tom Duncan & Tom Channon.


The Roger Pascoe Cup – Another special trophy, this is presented annually to the Supporters ‘Player of the Season’. It is in memory of former player Roger ‘Paco’ Pascoe, who made over 1,000 appearances for the club. This year’s winner, called forward for a second time, was someone who had enjoyed a phenomenal campaign since answering an SOS call at the start of the season when there was a sudden shortage of fit hookers. Unable to travel to Australia as planned, he proceeded to score an incredible total of 16 tries in the league.

Cornish Pirates’ CEO Rebecca Thomas presented the trophy to – Tom Channon.


Monckton Cup for Achievement – This trophy is presented in memory of Bill and Brian Monckton. A father-son combination who were both former players, they served on the committee, and each became respected officers of the club – Bill, a former captain, becoming Chairman and then President, and Brian in later years also becoming Chairman. As for achievement this year, there have been two outstanding examples, both teams who completed their home league programmes unbeaten – and each for the first time ever. Rebecca Thomas presented the to be shared trophy to – The Cornish Pirates & the Pirates Amateurs.

(Gavin Cattle & Alan Paver accepted the trophy on behalf of the Cornish Pirates and Des Thomas on behalf of the Pirates Amateurs)


The President’s Cup – This final trophy was presented by Terry Drew to the player who, in his opinion, has been the most outstanding contributor on the field during the season. First presented by Dicky Evans to Richard Carroll in 2003, this year’s fully deserved winner was – Josh Caulfield.