With Cornwall For Cornwall

Gans Kernow Rag Kernow

Westholme, Alexandra Road,

Penzance, Cornwall, TR18 4LY

Tel: 01736 331961 Email: [email protected]

Taunton Titans


Cornish Pirates

20 August, 2022

News & Fixtures

All the Latest News & Fixtures...

League / Cup

Pre Season Friendly


Veritas Park


sunday, 20 August, 2022

Kick Off



Taunton Titans


Cornish Pirates

Pirates Ready to Face the Titans

After the rigours of training during this especially hot summer, match action will commence for the Cornish Pirates with a pre-season opener away to National League One side Taunton Titans on Saturday (ko 3pm).


For supporters travelling to the fixture at the Somerset team’s Veritas Park ground, the contest will also provide an opportunity to cast an eye over new squad members.


In total, 13 new confirmed faces have been named to make their debuts for the Cornish Pirates, namely hookers Will Crane and Max Norey, props Harvey Beaton and Matt Johnson, locks James Fender, Will Britton and Josh Williams, backrowers Alex Everett, Seb Nagle-Taylor, Olly White and Jarrard Hayler, centre Garyn Smith, and wing Will Trewin. One further player, wing Tom Briggs, who is associated with the Royal Navy and has been training with the squad, is also selected.


Forwards Max Norey and Matt Johnson mentioned are two of seven players dual registered with Exeter Chiefs. The balance five, namely Lewis Pearson, Arthur Relton, Cory Teague, Rusiate Tuima and Tommy Wyatt, are not available this weekend.


The Cornish Pirates have selected two teams – one for each half – as follows:

Team 1: 15 Carwyn Penny, 14 Will Trewin, 13 Garyn Smith, 12 Joe Elderkin, 11 Callum Sirker, 10 Arwel Robson, Alex Schwarz; 1 Marlen Walker 2 W. Crane (captain), 3 Hayden King, 4 James Fender, 5 Will Britton, 6 Alex Everett, 7 Will Gibson, 8 Seb Nagle-Taylor.

Team 2: 15 AJ Cant, 14 Robin Wedlake, 13 Rory Parata, 12 Shae Tucker, 11 Tom Briggs, 10 Harry Bazalgette, 9 Ruaridh Dawson; 1 Olly Adkins, 2 Max Norey, 3 Harvey Beaton/Matt Johnson, 4 Josh Williams, 5 James Fender, 6 Olly White, 7 Jarrard Hayler, 8 John Stevens (captain).