With Cornwall For Cornwall

Gans Kernow Rag Kernow

Westholme, Alexandra Road,

Penzance, Cornwall, TR18 4LY

Tel: 01736 331961 Email: [email protected]



Cornish Pirates

3 May, 2024

News & Fixtures

All the Latest News & Fixtures...

League / Cup

Championship Rugby Round 20


Lady Bay


saturday, 3 May, 2024

Kick Off





Cornish Pirates

Following a ‘Reserve Weekend’ in the Championship league calendar, the third-placed Cornish Pirates are next in action away to Nottingham on Friday evening (ko 7.45pm).


The Pirates emerged 41-17 winners against the ‘Archers’ at the Mennaye Field in January. However, at Nottingham’s ‘The Bay’ home a much sterner test is expected.


Changes in the Pirates starting XV from the one that ran out against Cambridge last time out includes wing Matt McNab moving into the centre in place of the injured Ioan Evans, and Bruce Houston and Alex Schwarz named as the halfback pairing. For wing Robin Wedlake, who scored two tries as a replacement against Cambridge, this game will proudly mark his 100th appearance for the Pirates. As for the forwards, Will Britton will partner Steele Barker in the second row, with Hugh Bokenham stepping back to his more familiar role at Number 8.


Speaking ahead of Friday evening’s encounter, Cornish Pirates’ joint head coach Gavin Cattle has commented:


“Nottingham are a dangerous team, who play a positive brand of rugby in terms of their phase play, plus they are happy to attack from deep. Also, they have a good kicking game, so we envisage there could be a lot for us to contain defensively.


“Obviously, as we strive to stay as close to the top of the table as we can, the aim will be to impose our chosen game on them. Our record on the road this season has been good, but we also know that Nottingham’s challenge simply can’t be underestimated.”



Team News

The Cornish Pirates full selection is as follows:


Cornish Pirates:  15 Kyle Moyle 14 Robin Wedlake 13 Matt McNab 12 Joe Elderkin11 Arthur Relton 10 Bruce Houston 9 Alex Schwarz; 1 Lefty Zigiriadis 2 Harry Hocking 3 Fin Richardson 4 Will Britton 5 Steele Barker 6 Alex Everett 7 John Stevens (captain) 8 Hugh Bokenham.


Replacements:   16 Marlen Walker 17 Jacob Morris 18 Jack Andrew 19 Josh King 20 Will Gibson 21 Ruaridh Dawson 22 Tom Pittman 23 Will Trewin.